Joey Logano wins the Great American Race



racing, nascar, racecar, ocala news, sports
Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell Pennzoil Ford, celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 57th Annual Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on Feb. 22, 2015 in Daytona Beach, Fla. (Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

Joey Logano found his way to victory lane after winning Sunday’s Daytona 500. Logano became the second youngest to ever win the 500, behind Trevor Bayne who won in 2011 at the age of 20. Logano started the race in the fifth position and led 31 of the 203 lap race. Logano also earned 47 points.

Due to nearly a seven minute stoppage to clean the track, Logano got to sit in his car and think strategy. “You got a red flag, and they give you the opportunity to think of everything,” he said. “It’s funny because the whole team gets pretty quiet when you’re about to win the Daytona 500.”

Although Penske and his team executives watch over Logano on the field and offer advice, they had nothing to say with the Daytona 500 on the line.


“Daytona 500, oh my God! Are you kidding me?” Logano yelled in Victory Lane. “I was so nervous the whole race.”

Racing in what most likely is his final Daytona 500, Jeff Gordan, won the pole and kept his car in the lead for a race-high 87 laps. Gordan found himself involved in the race’s final accident and finished 33rd.

Defending Sprint Cup champion Kevin Harvick finished the race second while defending Daytona 500 winning Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished the race third. Denny Hamlin finished the race fourth and rounding out the top five was six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson.

Tony Stewart’s struggles at Daytona continued as he was involved in a multi-car accident early in the race. Stewart finished the race 42nd and extended his Daytona drought to 0-17.

Complete Race Results:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Casey Mears
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Greg Biffle
  11. David Gillilan
  12. Sam Hornish Jr.
  13. Michael Annett
  14. Austin Dillon
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Regan Smith
  17. David Ragan
  18. Matt Crafton
  19. Johnny Sauter
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Danica Patrick
  22. Cole Whitt
  23. Carl Edwards
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. Paul Menard
  26. Michael Waltrip
  27. Jamie McMurray
  28. Ty Dillon
  29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  30. Trevor Bayne
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Reed Sorenson
  33. Jeff Gordan
  34. Kyle Larson
  35. Matt Kenseth
  36. Mike Wallace
  37. Justin Allgaier
  38. Ryan Newman
  39. Ryan Blaney
  40. J. Yeley
  41. Brad Keselowski
  42. Tony Stewart
  43. Landon Cassill